Here Are the Republicans Who Supported Obama’s HHS Nominee

Sylvia Mathews Burwell picked up a handful of GOP votes in the Senate’s procedural vote Wednesday.

WASHINGTON, DC - MAY 14: Director of the White House Office of Management and Budget Sylvia Mathews Burwell (R) greets U.S. Sen. Tom Coburn (R-OK) (L) as she arrives at her confirmation hearing before the Senate Finance Committee May 14, 2014 on Capitol Hill in Washington, DC. If confirmed, Burwell will succeed Kathleen Sebelius to become the next secretary of Health and Human Services. (Photo by Alex Wong/Getty Images)
National Journal
Add to Briefcase
Sophie Novack
June 4, 2014, 9:01 a.m.

Sylvia Math­ews Bur­well is the all-but-cer­tain next Health and Hu­man Ser­vices sec­ret­ary, thanks to sup­port from both sides of the aisle.

The Sen­ate voted 67-28 on Wed­nes­day to end de­bate on Bur­well’s nom­in­a­tion, with 14 Re­pub­lic­ans join­ing Demo­crats to ad­vance to a fi­nal con­firm­a­tion vote. With the fili­buster hurdle cleared, Bur­well is all but guar­an­teed con­firm­a­tion.

New fili­buster rules for nom­in­ees left Re­pub­lic­ans with little power to block Bur­well. But some, in­clud­ing Sens. Ted Cruz and Mike Lee, were angling for a big­ger fight over her nom­in­a­tion, hop­ing to use the vote as ven­ue for cri­ti­cism of Obama­care.

Re­pub­lic­ans have rarely passed up a chance to put the health care law in the spot­light since it passed four years ago, but this time is ap­pears a sig­ni­fic­ant por­tion of the caucus has de­cided to do just that.

Bur­well, a former head of the White House Of­fice of Man­age­ment and Budget, re­ceived early sup­port from Re­pub­lic­an law­makers in­clud­ing Sens. John Mc­Cain, Tom Coburn, Or­rin Hatch, and Richard Burr.

Here are the GOP sen­at­ors who voted to ad­vance Bur­well’s nom­in­a­tion:

Lamar Al­ex­an­der (Tenn.)

Richard Burr (N.C.)

Saxby Cham­b­liss (Ga.)

Daniel Coats (Ind.)

Susan Collins (Maine)

Bob Cork­er (Tenn.)

Mike Crapo (Idaho)

Jeff Flake (Ar­iz.)

Or­rin Hatch (Utah)

Johnny Isak­son (Ga.)

John Mc­cain (Ar­iz.)

Lisa Murkowsi (Alaska)

Rob Port­man (Ohio)

Patrick Toomey (Pa.)


Welcome to National Journal!

You are currently accessing National Journal from IP access. Please login to access this feature. If you have any questions, please contact your Dedicated Advisor.