RACE FOR THE HOUSE | NY-5 | AZ-9 | GA-5 | TN-5 | FL-2 | FL-8 | TX-14 | FL-10 | FL-3 | KY-4 | NC-3 | AZ-4 | TX-1 | FL-19 | VA-7

Nine Republicans Vote Webster for Speaker; Graham Sticks By Promise Not to Back Pelosi

Webster’s supporters were some of the usual Republican rebels, but not large in number.

Add to Briefcase
Jack Fitzpatrick
Oct. 29, 2015, 10:44 a.m.

Four­teen House mem­bers broke ranks as Rep. Paul Ry­an (R-WI 01) was elec­ted speak­er Thursday, either vot­ing for someone oth­er than their party’s fa­vor­ite or de­clin­ing to vote. Nine Re­pub­lic­ans voted for Rep. Daniel Web­ster (R-FL 10), who asked not to be nom­in­ated. Three Demo­crats voted for three dif­fer­ent al­tern­at­ives oth­er than House Minor­ity Lead­er Nancy Pelosi (D). And Web­ster and Rep. Gregory Meeks (R-NY 05) de­clined to vote.

The nine Re­pub­lic­ans who sup­por­ted Web­ster were Reps. Dave Brat (R-VA 07), Curt Clawson (R-FL 19), Louie Gohmert (R-TX 01), Paul Gos­ar (R-AZ 04), Wal­ter Jones (R-NC 03), Thomas Massie (R-KY 04), Bill Po­sey (R-FL 08), Randy Weber (R-TX 14), and Ted Yoho (R-FL 03).

Rep. Gwen Gra­ham (D-FL 02) voted for Rep. Jim Cooper (D-TN 05). She also voted for Cooper in Janu­ary, and prom­ised dur­ing her cam­paign not to sup­port Pelosi. Cooper, mean­while, voted for former Sec­ret­ary of State Colin Pow­ell. And Rep. Kyrsten Sinema (D-AZ 09) voted for Rep. John Lewis (D-GA 05).


Welcome to National Journal!

You are currently accessing National Journal from IP access. Please login to access this feature. If you have any questions, please contact your Dedicated Advisor.