The House Democratic Candidates Who Won't Back Nancy Pelosi

So far, 33 Democrats have disavowed the minority leader.

Add to Briefcase
Aug. 8, 2018, 1:19 p.m.

Hotline is keeping a running count of House Democratic candidates who have said they won't back Nancy Pelosi as leader. So far we've found 33 Democrats who have called for new party leadership in interviews, press releases and television ads. Notably, 22 of them are in the DCCC's Red to Blue program for top House campaigns. Pelosi is Democrats' most prolific fundraiser and has transferred millions to the House campaign arm in the 2018 cycle.

The full list is below, in alphabetical order by state. Names marked with an asterisk are Red to Blue candidates.

  1. Clarke Tucker* (AR-02)
  2. Andrew Janz (CA-22)
  3. Gil Cisneros* (CA-39)
  4. Jason Crow* (CO-06)
  5. Jahana Hayes (CT-05)
  6. Brendan Kelly* (IL-12)
  7. Mel Hall (IN-02)
  8. Liz Watson* (IN-09)
  9. JD Scholten (IA-04)
  10. Paul Davis* (KS-02)
  11. Jared Golden* (ME-02)
  12. Elissa Slotkin* (MI-08)
  13. Kathleen Williams (MT-AL)
  14. Jeff Van Drew* (NJ-02)
  15. Andy Kim* (NJ-03)
  16. Josh Welle (NJ-04)
  17. Mikie Sherrill* (NJ-11)
  18. Max Rose* (NY-11)
  19. Anthony Brindisi* (NY-22)
  20. Dan McCready* (NC-09)
  21. Kathy Manning* (NC-13)
  22. Aftab Pureval* (OH-01)
  23. Janet Garrett (OH-04)
  24. Ken Harbaugh* (OH-07)
  25. Theresa Gasper (OH-10)
  26. Danny O'Connor (OH-12)
  27. Ron DiNicola* (PA-16)
  28. Conor Lamb (PA-17)
  29. Joe Cunningham (SC-01)
  30. Ben McAdams* (UT-04)
  31. Abigail Spanberger* (VA-07)
  32. Richard Ojeda* (WV-03)
  33. Dan Kohl* (WI-06)

Welcome to National Journal!

You are currently accessing National Journal from IP access. Please login to access this feature. If you have any questions, please contact your Dedicated Advisor.