RACE FOR THE HOUSE | VA-10 | TX-23 | PA-8 | NY-27 | NY-24 | NJ-3 | NE-2 | MN-3 | ME-2 | KS-3 | FL-26 | FL-18 | CA-50 | CA-48 | CA-45 | CA-22 | CA-21 | CA-4 | AZ-2 | PA-15 | MI-11 | KS-2 | FL-27 | MN-2 | IA-1 | CA-25 | CA-10 | CA-49 | NJ-7 | NJ-4 | NY-19 | NY-22 | NY-11 | NY-1 | NJ-11 | CO-6 | CA-39

Pro-Trump Group Ad Blitz Targets 9 GOP Members on Tax Reform

The DCCC released Facebook ads slamming the tax plan in 36 districts.

Add to Briefcase
Ally Mutnick
Nov. 14, 2017, 10:52 a.m.

The pro-Trump 45Committee “is going on television and radio this week with television ads urging nine” GOP members to support the tax reform bill. Targeted members: Reps. Lee Zeldin (NY-01), Claudia Tenney (NY-22), John Faso (NY-19), Dan Donovan (NY-11), Chris Smith (NJ-04), Leonard Lance (NJ-07), Darrell Issa (CA-49), Jeff Denham (CA-10), and Steve Knight (CA-25). (Washington Examiner)

The American Action Network is also out with a new TV ad campaign calling on Democrats to support tax reform. “The district-specific ads aimed at Democrats highlight the choice members face between tax cuts for the middle class or the failed status quo of House Minority Leader Nancy Pelosi,” per a statement from the group. The ads will run in 50 districts. (release)

ON THE WEB. The DCCC launched a Facebook ad campaign targeting 36 congressional districts. “The ads feature powerful, local stories that expose Republicans for pushing huge tax cuts for the rich and big corporations paid for by tax increases on millions of middle-class families,” according to the committee. And three districts, held by Reps. Rod Blum (R-IA 01), Jason Lewis (R-MN 02) and Mike Coffman (R-CO 06), will have unique ads on how the plan negatively impacts those with student loan debt.

Other targeted districts are open seats in FL-27, KS-02, MI-11 and PA-15 and those held by Issa, Tenney, Faso, Lance, Denham, Knight and Reps. Martha McSally (R-AZ 02), Tom McClintock (R-CA 04), David Valadao (R-CA 21), Devin Nunes (R-CA 22), Ed Royce (R-CA 39), Mimi Walters (R-CA 45), Dana Rohrabacher (R-CA 48), Duncan Hunter (R-CA 50), Brian Mast (R-FL 18), Carlos Curbelo (R-FL 26), Rep. Kevin Yoder (R-KS 03), Bruce Poliquin (R-ME 02), Erik Paulsen (R-MN 03), Don Bacon (R-NE 02), Tom MacArthur (R-NJ 03), Rodney Frelinghuysen (R-NJ 11), John Katko (R-NY 24), Chris Collins (R-NY 27), Brian Fitzpatrick (R-PA 08), Will Hurd (R-TX 23) and Barbara Comstock (R-VA 10). (release)

TAX VOTE. “House Republican leaders schedule a floor vote on a major legislative priority and exude confidence the bill will pass despite a chorus of rank-and-file concern. GOP leaders insist the tax overhaul they plan to vote on this week is different from the health care bill they had to pull from the floor this spring. But the reality is they are still wrangling the 218 votes needed to pass their tax measure. A possible repeat scenario of the health care debacle looms.” (Roll Call)

ON BOARD. Former Rep. Gabby Giffords’ (D-08) gun-control advocacy group announced endorsements for House challengers: lottery winner Gil Cisneros (D) in CA-39; former Army Ranger Jason Crow in CO-06; and former Navy helicopter pilot Mikie Sherrill in NJ-11. (Politico)


Welcome to National Journal!

You are currently accessing National Journal from IP access. Please login to access this feature. If you have any questions, please contact your Dedicated Advisor.