Senate Panel Takes Up Slate of Energy, Interior Nominations

WASHINGTON - JUNE 21: Sen. Debbie Stabenow (D-MI) (2nd L), chair of the Senate Agriculture Committee, speaks at a news conferece on Capitol Hill as Sen. Max Baucus (D-MT), Sen. Patrick Leahy (D-VT), and Sen. Pat Roberts (R-KS) (L-R) listen on June 21, 2012 in Washington, DC. The Senate passed its version of the farm bill, which will now have to be merged with a House version before final passage. 
National Journal
Add to Briefcase
Clare Foran
Jan. 14, 2014, 1:49 a.m.

The Sen­ate En­ergy and Nat­ur­al Re­sources Com­mit­tee will vote on Thursday on a num­ber of nom­in­a­tions for key Obama ad­min­is­tra­tion posts in the En­ergy and In­teri­or de­part­ments.

The nom­in­ees, which in­clude Mi­chael Con­nor to serve as deputy sec­ret­ary of the In­teri­or, Eliza­beth Robin­son as un­der­sec­ret­ary of En­ergy, Chris­toph­er Smith as DOE’s as­sist­ant sec­ret­ary for fossil en­ergy and El­len Wil­li­ams as DOE’s dir­ect­or of Ad­vanced Re­search Pro­jects Agency-En­ergy, are largely un­con­tro­ver­sial.

Na­tion­al Journ­al re­por­ted earli­er this month, however, that Sen. Debbie Stabenow, D-Mich., may place a hold on the nom­in­a­tion of Chris­toph­er Smith.

As as­sist­ant sec­ret­ary for fossil en­ergy, Smith would over­see the En­ergy De­part­ment’s ap­provals pro­cess for nat­ur­al-gas ex­port ter­min­als. Stabenow is con­cerned that a quick suc­ces­sion of ap­provals could pose a threat to chem­ic­als man­u­fac­tur­ers, in­clud­ing Dow Chem­ic­al, headquartered in Michigan, that be­ne­fit from the cheap price of nat­ur­al gas.

While Stabenow has not said defin­it­ively wheth­er she will place a hold on the nom­in­a­tion, the sen­at­or will likely have to make a de­cision soon.


Welcome to National Journal!

You are currently accessing National Journal from IP access. Please login to access this feature. If you have any questions, please contact your Dedicated Advisor.