Skip Navigation

Close and don't show again.

Your browser is out of date.

You may not get the full experience here on National Journal.

Please upgrade your browser to any of the following supported browsers:

The 30 House Republicans Who Help Break the 'Hastert Rule' The 30 House Republicans Who Help Break the 'Hastert Rule'

This ad will end in seconds
Close X

Want access to this content? Learn More »

Forget Your Password?

Don't have an account? Register »

Reveal Navigation


The 30 House Republicans Who Help Break the 'Hastert Rule'

From eight members in districts Obama won to one in a top-ten GOP-leaning seat.


The early morning sun begins to rise behind the U.S. Capitol on December 17, 2010 in Washington, DC.(Win McNamee/Getty Images)

The House of Representatives' Republican majority is in charge of what comes to a vote in that chamber, and typically the only bills that come up are supported by a majority of the majority. But House Speaker John Boehner has ignored that rule on three occasions involving must-pass legislation this Congress, and there are 30 Republicans who voted with nearly every House Democrat to pass each of those bills: one ending the government shutdown and raising the debt ceiling, one reauthorizing the Violence Against Women Act, and one providing funding for Superstorm Sandy relief.

As I wrote in today's National Journal Daily, this "governing caucus" of Republicans would likely play a key role in any future major legislation in this Congress. (Another 44 Republicans voted for two of the three bills in question.) But there are several serious barriers in their path, as indicated by the fact that they have only gotten to exercise their power three times in nine months. Here are the 30 Republican lawmakers who have split with their party on these key votes:


Rep. Spencer Bachus, R-Ala.
Rep. Lou Barletta, R-Pa.
Rep. Charles Boustany, R-La.
Rep. Shelley Moore Capito, R-W.Va.
Rep. Tom Cole, R-Okla.
Rep. Kevin Cramer, R-N.D.
Rep. Rodney Davis, R-Ill.
Rep. Charlie Dent, R-Pa.
Rep. Mario Diaz-Balart, R-Fla.
Rep. Mike Fitzpatrick, R-Pa.
Rep. Rodney Frelinghuysen, R-N.J.
Rep. Jim Gerlach, R-Pa.
Rep. Chris Gibson, R-N.Y.
Rep. Michael Grimm, R-N.Y.
Rep. Richard Hanna, R-N.Y.
Rep. Gregg Harper, R-Miss.
Rep. Jaime Herrera Beutler, R-Wash.
Rep. Peter King, R-N.Y.
Rep. Leonard Lance, R-N.J.
Rep. Frank LoBiondo, R-N.J.
Rep. Kevin McCarthy, R-Calif.
Rep. Buck McKeon, R-Calif.
Rep. David McKinley, R-W.Va.
Rep. Patrick Meehan, R-Pa.
Rep. Dave Reichert, R-Wash.
Rep. Ileana Ros-Lehtinen, R-Fla.
Rep. Jon Runyan, R-N.J.
Rep. John Shimkus, R-Ill.
Rep. David Valadao, R-Calif.
Rep. Todd Young, R-Ind.

comments powered by Disqus