Skip Navigation

Close and don't show again.

Your browser is out of date.

You may not get the full experience here on National Journal.

Please upgrade your browser to any of the following supported browsers:

Most Vulnerable House Democrats Side With GOP on 'Obamacare' Vote Most Vulnerable House Democrats Side With GOP on 'Obamacare' Vote

This ad will end in seconds
Close X

Want access to this content? Learn More »

Forget Your Password?

Don't have an account? Register »

Reveal Navigation


Most Vulnerable House Democrats Side With GOP on 'Obamacare' Vote

Eight of the nine Dems who represent districts Obama lost in 2012 voted for the GOP bill.


Rep. Jim Matheson of Utah was one of 39 Democrats on Friday to vote for a GOP-sponsored bill that made changes to the 2010 health care law.(Liz Lynch)

Thirty-nine House Democrats, many from battleground territory, broke from their party Friday to support Republicans' "Keep Your Health Care Plan" Obamacare fix—which the White House and many Democrats have said would "gut" the law.

The vote followed some familiar patterns. Eight of the nine Democrats representing territory Mitt Romney carried in the 2012 presidential race supported the bill; Rep. Ann Kirkpatrick, D-Ariz., a fierce supporter of the law, was the only outlier there. In fact, Kirkpatrick was one of only two Democrats, along with Democratic Congressional Campaign Committee Chairman Steve Israel of New York, who voted no on the bill and represent a district where President Obama got less than 53 percent of the vote in 2012. Overall, 28 of the 36 voting Democrats from districts where Obama won less than 55 percent voted for the bill, and only 11 of 156 voting Democrats from districts where Obama topped 55 percent followed suit.


Kirkpatrick was also one of just three "Frontline" Democrats, members of the DCCC program for electorally vulnerable incumbents, who didn't join Republicans on the vote. Reps. Lois Capps of California and John Tierney of Massachusetts were the other two. (DCCC Frontline chairman Tim Walz joined most of the members in his program in voting for the measure.)

Democrats' Upton Votes by Obama's 2012 Performance
Roll over a circle for more information or click and drag on the chart to zoom into a specific area. Blue indicates a yes vote; gray indicates a no vote.

The National Republican Congressional Committee slammed both groups of Democrats alike in statements. The committee called Kirkpatrick a "co-conspirator in President Obama's claim that if you like your health care plan you can keep it" and had broken a promise in today's vote. The committee was no more kind to the others. "No matter what this Washington politician says, Nick Rahall voted to give us ObamaCare and keep ObamaCare on the books," NRCC spokeswoman Andrea Bozek said in a statement after Rahall joined the GOP on this vote.


"Today, I voted against H.R. 3350, the Upton bill, because it would neither fix nor improve the ACA," Kirkpatrick said in a statement that also called the recent Obamacare rollout a "disaster."

Below is the full list of 39 Democrats who voted for the bill:

Rep. Ron Barber of Arizona
Rep. John Barrow of Georgia
Rep. Ami Bera of California
Rep. Tim Bishop of New York
Rep. Bruce Braley of Iowa
Rep. Julia Brownley of California
Rep. Cheri Bustos of Illinois
Rep. Jim Costa of California
Rep. Peter DeFazio of Oregon
Rep. Suzan DelBene of Washington
Rep. Tammy Duckworth of Illinois
Rep. Bill Enyart of Illinois
Rep. Elizabeth Esty of Connecticut
Rep. Bill Foster of Illinois
Rep. Pete Gallego of Texas
Rep. John Garamendi of California
Rep. Joe Garcia of Florida
Rep. Ron Kind of Wisconsin
Rep. Ann McLane Kuster of New Hampshire
Rep. Dave Loebsack of Iowa
Rep. Dan Maffei of New York
Rep. Sean Maloney of New York
Rep. Jim Matheson of Utah
Rep. Mike McIntyre of North Carolina
Rep. Jerry McNerney of California
Rep. Patrick Murphy of Florida
Rep. Rick Nolan of Minnesota
Rep. Bill Owens of New York
Rep. Scott Peters of California
Rep. Gary Peters of Michigan
Rep. Collin Peterson of Minnesota
Rep. Nick Rahall of West Virginia
Rep. Raul Ruiz of California
Rep. Brad Schneider of Illinois
Rep. Kurt Schrader of Oregon
Rep. Carol Shea-Porter of New Hampshire
Rep. Kyrsten Sinema of Arizona
Rep. Filemon Vela of Texas
Rep. Tim Walz of Minnesota

Graphic by Brian McGill

comments powered by Disqus