ARIZONA 08 (R -- LESKO) | AZ-8

Lesko Takes Oath of Office

There are still six vacancies in the House.

Add to Briefcase
Ally Mutnick
May 8, 2018, 10:10 a.m.

Rep. Debbie Lesko (R) took the oath of office on Monday evening. She won the April 24 special election to replace former Rep. Trent Franks (R).

“Lesko intends to join the hard-line conservative Freedom Caucus, according to spokesman Barrett Marson. She will be the only current female member of the group of three dozen or so members of Congress that Franks also participated in.” Emergency-room physician Hiral Tipirneni (D) has said she will run again in November against Lesko after losing the special. (Arizona Republic)

There are still six vacancies in the House, left by former Reps. John Conyers (D-MI 13), Pat Tiberi (R-OH 12), Louise Slaughter (D-NY 25), Blake Farenthold (R-TX 27), and Jim Bridenstine (R-OK 01).


Welcome to National Journal!

You are currently accessing National Journal from IP access. Please login to access this feature. If you have any questions, please contact your Dedicated Advisor.