Brain drain? Eleven Republican committee or subcommittee chairs will not seek reelection in 2018

Republican committee and subcommittee chairs retiring after 2018

REPUBLICAN CONFERENCE RULES LIMIT CHAIRMANSHIPS TO 6 YEARS

Term-limited and retiring

Space, Science & Technology Lamar Smith (R-TX21)

Transportation & Infrastructure Bill Shuster (R-PA9)

Financial Services

Jeb Hensarling (R-TX5)

Retiring but not term-limited

Budget

Diane Black (R-NJ2)



Oversight Trey Gowdy (R-SC4)

Term-limited but still running



Homeland Security Michael McCaul (R-TX10)



Judiciary Bob Goodlatte (R-VA6)



Foreign Affairs Ed Royce (R-CA39)

*Dent is also the chair of the House Ethics Committee but is not term-limited from that position



VA Appropriations Sub.* Charlie Dent (R-PA15)



Aviation Sub. Frank LoBiondo (R-NJ2)



Administration Gregg Harper (R-MS3)



Appropriations Rodney Frelinghuysen (R-NJ11)



Sources: National Journal Research, 2017.