Skip Navigation

Close and don't show again.

Your browser is out of date.

You may not get the full experience here on National Journal.

Please upgrade your browser to any of the following supported browsers:

Obama Nominates Three NLRB Recess Appointees to Full Terms Obama Nominates Three NLRB Recess Appointees to Full Terms

This ad will end in seconds
Close X

Not a member or subscriber? Learn More »

Forget Your Password?

Don't have an account? Register »

Reveal Navigation



Obama Nominates Three NLRB Recess Appointees to Full Terms

President Obama on Monday formally nominated three people to the National Labor Relations Board, all of whom have served on the board since the beginning of the year as recess appointees.

The nominees to the board, often a lightening rod for conservatives opposed to an expansion of labor rights, are: Sharon Block, who was deputy assistant secretary for congressional affairs at the Labor Department, to a term ending Dec. 16, 2014; Terence Flynn, who was the chief counsel to NLRB member Brian Hayes, to a term ending Aug. 27, 2015; and Richard Griffin Jr., who was general counsel for the International Union of Operating Engineers, to a term ending Aug. 27, 2016. 


Block's recess appointment filled a vacancy left by Craig Becker, a former associate general counsel to both the Service Employees International Union and the AFL-CIO who was seated on the NLRB via a recess appointment in March 2010. Obama withdrew his appointment of Becker for a full term in December after it was fiercely resisted by Senate Republicans.

comments powered by Disqus
Make your Election Night headquarters.
See more ▲