Skip Navigation

Close and don't show again.

Your browser is out of date.

You may not get the full experience here on National Journal.

Please upgrade your browser to any of the following supported browsers:

Names to Expect in a Second Obama Administration Names to Expect in a Second Obama Administration

This ad will end in seconds
Close X

Want access to this content? Learn More »

Forget Your Password?

Don't have an account? Register »

Reveal Navigation


Names to Expect in a Second Obama Administration


President Barack Obama talks with senior advisors in the Oval Office, July 31, 2011.(Pete Souza/The White House)

A second Obama administration probably won't look much like the first, as much as the president might like it to.

If Obama wins on Nov. 6, here are the names you can expect to see in the next administration. (Read the full story)


Click the position title below to see more about each potential power player.

Chief of Staff

  • Jacob Lew
  • Valerie Jarrett
  • Ron Klain

Secretary of State

  • Sen. John Kerry, D-Mass.
  • Tom Donilon
  • Susan Rice

Defense Secretary

  • Michele Flournoy
  • Richard Danzig
  • Ash Carter
  • Chuck Hagel

Attorney General

  • Eric Holder
  • Deval Patrick
  • Sen. Amy Klobuchar, D-Minn.
  • Sheldon Whitehouse

CIA Director

  • Gen. David Petraeus
  • John Brennan

Director of National Intelligence

  • Lt. Gen. James Clapper
  • John Brennan

National Security Adviser

  • Tom Donilon
  • Denis McDonough
  • Michele Flournoy

Homeland Security

  • Janet Napolitano
  • Ray Kelley
  • Bill Bratton
  • Thad Allen
  • Clark Ervin

Treasury Secretary

  • Jacob Lew
  • Erskine Bowles
  • Gene Sperling
  • Larry Fink
  • Roger Altman

Office of Management and Budget Director

  • Douglas Elmendorf
  • Peter Orzag
  • Gene Sperling
  • Jeffrey Zients
  • Rob Nabors
  • Rep. Chris Van Hollen

Council of Economic Advisers Chairman

  • Alan Krueger
  • Peter Diamond
  • David Cutler
  • Jeffrey Liebman

Commerce Secretary

  • Ron Kirk
  • Karen Mills

Energy Secretary

  • Byron Dorgan
  • Jennifer Granholm
  • John Podesta

Health and Human Services Secretary

  • Kathleen Sebelius
  • Lois Quam
  • Martin O’Malley
  • Deval Patrick
  • John Kitzhaber
  • Nancy-Ann DeParle

Housing and Urban Development Secretary

  • Shaun Donovan

Interior Secretary

  • Ken Salazar
  • Christine Gregoire
  • John Berry

Labor Secretary

  • Hilda Solis
  • Seth Harris
  • Maria Echaveste
  • Olena Berg Lacy
  • Arlene Holt Baker
  • George Miller
  • Marcy Kaptur
  • David Bonior
  • Carrie Wofford

Agriculture Secretary

  • Tom Vilsack
  • Blanche Lincoln
  • Kent Conrad
  • Jon Tester

Transportation Secretary

  • Ray LaHood
  • Antonio Villaraigosa
  • Ed Rendell
  • Michael Bloomberg
  • Steven LaTourette

Education Secretary

  • Arne Duncan

Environmental Protection Agency Administrator

  • Lisa Jackson
  • Bob Perciasepe
  • Heather Zichal
  • Bradley Campbell

Supreme Court

  • Merrick Garland
  • Sen. Amy Klobuchar, D-Minn.
  • Jennifer Granholm
  • Kamala Harris

Federal Reserve Board Chairman

  • Ben Bernanke
  • Janet Yellen
  • Donald Kohn
  • Lawrence Summers


comments powered by Disqus