Skip Navigation

Close and don't show again.

Your browser is out of date.

You may not get the full experience here on National Journal.

Please upgrade your browser to any of the following supported browsers:

Names to Expect in a Romney Administration Names to Expect in a Romney Administration

This ad will end in seconds
Close X

Want access to this content? Learn More »

Forget Your Password?

Don't have an account? Register »

Reveal Navigation


If Romney Wins

Names to Expect in a Romney Administration


Republican presidential nominee Mitt Romney pauses during a campaign rally on Sept. 26 in Westerville, Ohio. (AP Photo/ Evan Vucci)

When he was a governor, Mitt Romney prided himself on bringing in the best and the brightest. As president, he would be under pressure to tend to Republican Party interests in stocking the government with loyalists. 

If Romney wins on Nov. 6, here are the names you can expect to see in the next administration. (Read the full story here).


Click the position title below to see more about each potential power player.

White House Staff

  • Mike Leavitt (Chief of staff)
  • Beth Myers
  • Jack Gerard
  • Bob White
  • Ed Gillespie
  • Peter Flaherty
  • Eric Fehrnstrom
  • Gov. Bill Weld

Secretary of State

  • Rob Portman
  • Robert Zoellick
  • Jon Huntsman
  • Robert Kimmitt
  • Richard Williamson
  • John Bolton
  • Colin Powell

Defense Secretary

  • Robert Zoellick
  • Jim Talent

Attorney General

  • Richard Wiley
  • Michael Chertoff
  • Kenneth Wainstein
  • Bob McDonnell
  • Chris Christie
  • John Cornyn
  • Mike Lee

Central Intelligence Agency Director

  • David Petraeus

Director of National Intelligence

  • Cofer Black
  • Michael Hayden

National Security Adviser

  • Richard Williamson
  • Mitchell Reiss
  • Eric Edelman
  • Elliott Abrams
  • Dan Senor

Homeland Security Secretary

  • Frances Townsend
  • Michael Hayden
  • Kris Kobach
  • Thaddeus Allen
  • William Barr
  • Michael Mukasey
  • Joe Lieberman

Treasury Secretary

  • Glenn Hubbard
  • Robert Zoellick

Office of Management and Budget Director

  • Douglas Holtz-Eakin
  • Jim Nussle
  • Judd Gregg
  • Rob Portman

Council of Economic Advisers Chairman

  • Glenn Hubbard 
  • Greg Mankiw 
  • John Taylor 
  • Kevin Hassett

Commerce Secretary

  • Tom Stemberg 
  • Bob White 
  • Carly Fiorina 
  • Kerry Healey

Energy Secretary

  • James Connaughton 
  • Jack Gerard

Health and Human Services Secretary

  • Mike Leavitt 
  • Tim Murphy 
  • Tevi Troy 
  • Scott Gottlieb 
  • Mark McClellan 
  • Bobby Jindal

Housing and Urban Development Secretary

  • Rick Lazio

Interior Secretary

  • Brian Sandoval 
  • Susana Martinez 
  • Luis Fortuno 
  • Bob Beauprez 
  • James Inhofe

Labor Secretary

  • Bill Kilberg
  • Jim Talent

Agriculture Secretary

  • Adam Putnam
  • Chuck Conner

Transportation Secretary

  • Bob McDonnell
  • Luis Fortuno
  • Kay Bailey Hutchison
  • John Mica
  • Marion Blakey

Education Secretary

  • Michelle Rhee
  • Joel Klein
  • Tom Luna
  • Tony Bennett
  • Chris Cerf
  • Nina Rees
  • Tim Pawlenty
  • Bobby Jindal
  • Susana Martinez

EPA Administrator

  • Susan Dudley
  • Ann Klee
  • James Connaughton
  • Jeff Holmstead
  • Greg Abbott

Supreme Court

  • Robert Bork
  • Paul Clement
  • Viet Dinh
  • Miguel Estrada
  • Jeffrey Sutton
  • Diane Sykes
  • Michael McConnell
  • Brett Kavanaugh
  • Janice Rogers Brown

Federal Reserve Board

  • John Taylor
  • Glenn Hubbard
  • Greg Mankiw
  • Martin Feldstein
comments powered by Disqus