Skip Navigation

Close and don't show again.

Your browser is out of date.

You may not get the full experience here on National Journal.

Please upgrade your browser to any of the following supported browsers:

Members Who Are Serving Nonconsecutive Terms--PICTURES Members Who Are Serving Nonconsecutive Terms--PICTURES

This ad will end in seconds
Close X

Want access to this content? Learn More »

Forget Your Password?

Don't have an account? Register »

Reveal Navigation


Congress / CONGRESS

Members Who Are Serving Nonconsecutive Terms--PICTURES

photo of Kenneth Chamberlain
May 30, 2012

Former Rep. Artur Davis, D-Ala., announced this week that he may run again for the House, this time as a Republican from Virginia. If Davis did run and win, he would not be alone. Although most members leave Congress for other jobs or elected offices, or just to retire, a few former members rejoin their House colleagues in later Congresses.

Below are the current House members who have served nonconsecutive terms in the chamber, according to the House Office of the Clerk.

Ron Paul, R-Texas 1997 - present, 1979-85, 1976-77(Chet Susslin)

David Price, D-N.C. 1997-present, 1987-1995(AP Photo/ Sara D. Davis)

Jim Cooper, D-Tenn. (right) 2003-present, 1983-1995(AP Photo/Erik Schelzig)


Dan Lungren, R-Calif. 2005-present, 1979-1989(Courtesey of the office of Dan Lungren)

Charlie Bass, R-N.H. 2011-present, 1995-2007(Cheryl Senter/AP)

Brian Bilbray, R-Calif. 2006-present, 1995-2001(Richard A. Bloom)


Steve Pearce, R-N.M. 2011-present, 2003-2009(AP Photo/Charles Dharapak)

Mike Fitzpatrick, R-Pa. 2011-present, 2005-2007(AP Photo/Susan Walsh)

Tim Walberg, R-Mich. 2011-present, 2007-2009(AP Photo/Carlos Osorio)


Steve Chabot, R-Ohio 2011-present, 1995-2009(AP Photo/Al Behrman)

Job Board
Search Jobs
Operations Manager and Chief of Staff
American Society of Civil Engineers | Washington
Data Analyst
American Society of Civil Engineers | Boulder, CO
Software Engineer Asc
Lockheed Martin | King of Prussia, PA
Info Assurance Engineer Asc
Lockheed Martin | Orlando, FL
Software Engineer Sr
Lockheed Martin | Littleton, CO
Intelligence Analyst Trainer
Lockheed Martin | Fort Bragg, NC
Project Spec Sr Stf
Lockheed Martin | Moorestown, NJ
Software Engineer
Lockheed Martin | Littleton, CO
Network Engineer Asc
Lockheed Martin | Richland, WA
OSINT/Somali Linguist - DASS
Lockheed Martin | Reston, VA
Field Technician - Aircraft Simulators - Honolulu
Lockheed Martin | Pearl Harbor, HI
Senior DBA / Oracle + SQL / F-35 Fighter Squadron / Las Vegas, NV
Lockheed Martin | Nellis Air Force Base, NV
Business Planner
Lockheed Martin | Albuquerque, FL
Senior DBA / Oracle + SQL / F-35 Fighter Squadron / Palmdale, CA
Lockheed Martin | Edwards Air Force Base, CA
Staff Software Engineer
Lockheed Martin | Annapolis Junction, MD
comments powered by Disqus