Skip Navigation

Close and don't show again.

Your browser is out of date.

You may not get the full experience here on National Journal.

Please upgrade your browser to any of the following supported browsers:

Poll: Which Senator Is Most Likely to Change His or Her Vote on Background-Check Legislation? Poll: Which Senator Is Most Likely to Change His or Her Vote on Backgr...

This ad will end in seconds
Close X

Want access to this content? Learn More »

Forget Your Password?

Don't have an account? Register »

Reveal Navigation



Poll: Which Senator Is Most Likely to Change His or Her Vote on Background-Check Legislation?

Which senator is most likely to change his or her vote on background-check legislation if it’s brought for another vote?


Kelly Ayotte, R-N.H.: 41%
Max Baucus, D-Mont.: 29%
Jeff Flake, R-Ariz.: 10%
Heidi Heitkamp, D-N.D.: 3%
Johnny Isakson, R-Ga.: 2%
Rob Portman, R-Ohio: 3%
Mark Pryor, D-Ark.: 1%
None of the above: 11%


Kelly Ayotte

“She is rapidly losing support back home and needs to stop the ship from sinking.”

“What was she thinking?”


“Ayotte is lucky she is only up in 2016, as otherwise her title would be “former senator.”

“How can a former AG be against background checks? Her national ambition got ahead of her, and now she needs to find a way back home.”

Max Baucus

“Maybe now that he’s not running for reelect, conscience will matter.”


“What kind of person votes against this bill, then retires four days later? They have a word for that in Montana.”

Jeff Flake

“He has the personal connection to [Gabrielle] Giffords and wants to avoid Mark Kelly running against him in 2018.”

Heidi Heitkamp

“Five years is a long time for the voters to hold a grudge.”

None of the above

“They cast their lot and will stick with their mistake. And the country will pay for it.”



Which senator is most likely to change his or her vote on background-check legislation if it’s brought for another vote?

Republicans (88 VOTES)

Kelly Ayotte, R-N.H.: 20%
Max Baucus, D-Mont.: 16%
Jeff Flake, R-Ariz.: 7%
Heidi Heitkamp, D-N.D.: 7%
Johnny Isakson, R-Ga.: 6%
Rob Portman, R-Ohio: 1%
Mark Pryor, D-Ark.: 7%
None of the above: 36%

Kelly Ayotte

“She heard an earful when she went back home to New Hampshire, and her poll numbers are falling. She would be wise to adhere to former Speaker Tip O’Neill’s admonition that all politics is local.”

“There are plenty of minor tweaks that can be made for her to claim she ‘improved’ the bill, and it won’t become law anyway.”

Max Baucus

“He doesn’t need to straddle anymore, because he’s retiring.”

“Easy choice—lame duck who can cut deals for something he really wants.”

Jeff Flake

“Gabby Giffords is a powerful advocate—nowhere more so than in Jeff Flake’s backyard.”

Heidi Heitkamp

“She has the best chance of getting away with it.”

None of the above

“They were all smart political votes for their circumstances.”

“Changing only gets both sides mad at you. They will need a new compromise.”

“On issues like this, it is better to stick with a vote than change and have friend and foe think you are a coward.”

. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

Democratic Political Insiders Jill Alper, John Anzalone, Brad Bannon, Dave Beattie, Andy Bechhoefer, Cornell Belcher, Matt Bennett, Mitchell W. Berger, Mike Berman, Stephanie Bosh, Paul Brathwaite, Donna Brazile, Mark Brewer, Ed Bruley, George Bruno, Bonnie Campbell, Bill Carrick, Guy Cecil, Martin J. Chavez, Tony Coelho, Larry Cohen, Jerry Crawford, Brendan Daly, Jeff Danielson, Peter Daou, Howard Dean, Scott DeFife, Jim Demers, Tad Devine, David Di Martino, Debbie Dingell, Monica Dixon, Patrick Dorton, Pat Dujakovich, Anita Dunn, Jeff Eller, Steve Elmendorf, Carter Eskew, Vic Fazio, Peter Fenn, Scott Ferson, Jim Fleischmann, Tina Flournoy, Don Foley, Jeffrey Forbes, Vincent Frillici, Gina Glantz, Niles Godes, John Michael Gonzalez, Joe Grandmaison, Anna Greenberg, Stan Greenberg, Pat Griffin, Larry Grisolano, Michael Gronstal, Lisa Grove, Marcia Hale, Jill Hanauer, Dick Harpootlian, Paul Harstad, Laura Hartigan, Doug Hattaway, Mike Henry, Karen Hicks, Leo Hindery Jr., Harold Ickes, Marcus Jadotte, John Jameson, Steve Jarding, Jonathon Jones, Jim Jordan, Gale Kaufman, Lisa Kountoupes, Celinda Lake, David Lang, Penny Lee, Chris Lehane, Jeff Link, Bob Maloney, Jim Manley, Steve Marchand, Jim Margolis, Paul Maslin, Keith Mason, Susan McCue, Gerald McEntee, Steve McMahon, Tom McMahon, Phil McNamara, David Medina, Michael Meehan, Mark Mellman, John Merrigan, Michael Monroe, Steve Murphy, Janet Napolitano, David Nassar, Marcia Nichols, John Norris, Tom Ochs, Tom O’Donnell, Jeffrey Peck, Debora Pignatelli, Tony Podesta, Jefrey Pollock, Jack Quinn, Larry Rasky, Mame Reiley, Ed Rendell, Steve Ricchetti, Will Robinson, Steve Rosenthal, David Rudd, Ryan Rudominer, John Ryan, Michael Sargeant, Stephanie Schriock, Terry Shumaker, Sean Sinclair, Phil Singer, Erik Smith, Doug Sosnik, Greg Speed, Darry Sragow, Ken Strasma, Doug Thornell, Jeffrey Trammell, Ed Turlington, Rick Wiener, James Williams, JoDee Winterhof, Brian Wolff, Jon Youngdahl, and Jim Zogby.

GOP Political Insiders Dan Allen, Stan Anderson, Gary Andres, Saulius (Saul) Anuzis, Rich Ashooh, Whit Ayres, Brett Bader, Mitch Bainwol, Brian Baker, Gary Bauer, David Beckwith, Paul Bennecke, Clark Benson, Wayne Berman, Brian Bieron, Charlie Black, Kirk Blalock, Carmine Boal, Jeff Boeyink, Ron Bonjean, Jeff Buley, Luke Byars, Nick Calio, Al Cardenas, Danny Carroll, Alex Castellanos, Ron Christie, Jim Cicconi, Jonathan Collegio, Rob Collins, Cesar Conda, Jake Corman, Scott Cottington, Jay Cranford, Greg Crist, Diane Crookham-Johnson, Fergus Cullen, Tom Davis, Mike Dennehy, Ken Duberstein, Debi Durham, Sara Fagen, Frank Fahrenkopf, John Feehery, Don Fierce, Mindy Finn, Carl Forti, Alex Gage, Bruce A. Gates, Sam Geduldig, Adam Geller, Benjamin Ginsberg, David Girard-diCarlo, Bill Greener, Jonathan Grella, Lanny Griffith, Janet Mullins Grissom, Doug Gross, Todd Harris, Steve Hart, Christopher Healy, Ralph Hellmann, Chris Henick, Terry Holt, David Iannelli, Ed Ingle, Jim Innocenzi, Clark Judge, David Keating, David Kensinger, Bob Kjellander, Ed Kutler, Chris LaCivita, Jim Lake, Steven Law, Steve Lombardo, Kevin Madden, Joel Maiola, Gary Maloney, David Marin, Mary Matalin, Dan Mattoon, Brian McCormack, Mark McKinnon, Kyle McSlarrow, Ken Mehlman, Jim Merrill, Lisa Camooso Miller, Tim Morrison, Mike Murphy, Phil Musser, Ron Nehring, Terry Nelson, Neil Newhouse, David Norcross, Ziad Ojakli, Jack Oliver, Todd Olsen, Kevin O’Neill, Connie Partoyan, Billy Piper, Van B. Poole, Tom Rath, Scott Reed, David Rehr, Tom Reynolds, Steve Roberts, Jason Roe, David Roederer, Dan Schnur, Russ Schriefer, Rich Schwarm, Brent Seaborn, Rick Shelby, Andrew Shore, Kevin Shuvalov, Don Sipple, Ken Spain, Fred Steeper, Bob Stevenson, Terry Sullivan, David Tamasi, Eric Tanenblatt, Richard Temple, Heath Thompson, Jay Timmons, Warren Tompkins, Ted Van Der Meid, Dirk van Dongen, Jan van Lohuizen, Stewart Verdery, Dick Wadhams, John Weaver, Lezlee Westine, Dave Winston, Ginny Wolfe, Fred Wszolek, and Matthew Zablud.

comments powered by Disqus