Skip Navigation

Close and don't show again.

Your browser is out of date.

You may not get the full experience here on National Journal.

Please upgrade your browser to any of the following supported browsers:

Dems Make Last Ditch Effort For House Dems Make Last Ditch Effort For House

This ad will end in seconds
Close X

Want access to this content? Learn More »

Forget Your Password?

Don't have an account? Register »

Reveal Navigation


Dems Make Last Ditch Effort For House


Rep. Raul Grijalva is one of the vulnerable Democrats the party is trying to save with a last-minute influx of cash.(John Moore/Getty Images)

The Democratic Congressional Campaign Committee is making a last ditch effort to survive a GOP wave by blanketing the airwaves in more than 60 districts in the final week of the campaign.

According to FEC filings late Tuesday, the DCCC purchased $21.6 million worth of air time in 66 districts.


The ad buys represent the breadth of the GOP 's momentum. Among those 66 districts, many were once considered safe Democratic seats, including those held by Reps. Gerry Connolly (D-Va.), Gary Peters (D-Mich.), Bruce Braley (D-Iowa) and Raul Grijalva (D-Ariz.). Only three of the seats in which Democrats are advertising are held by Republicans.

The DCCC's financial priorities are as revealing as where the committee didn't spend. In most cases indicates that Democrats are trailing their Republican challengers by insurmountable deficits. Those Democrats include Reps. Steve Kagen (D-Wis.), Debbie Halvorson (D-Ill.), Ann Kirkpatrick (D-Ariz.) and Carol Shea Porter (D-N.H.).

The Democratic buy indicates the party is newly worried about a number of districts in which they had not advertised before this final week of the campaign. Virginia's Connolly will see a $1.1 million ad buy, the first time the committee has spent there. The Democrats similarly spent big for the first time protecting Rep. John Adler (D-N.J.), who will benefit from $642,000 in ad spending.


Democrats are also spending in districts held by Reps. Patrick Murphy (D-Pa.), Chris Murphy (D-Conn.), Ron Klein (D-Fla.) and Gabrielle Giffords (D-Ariz.).

The DCCC is spending big on a handful of party-held open seats, including the seat held by Rep. Bill Delahunt. It spent $823,000 on an ad targeting Republican state Rep. Jeff Perry. The party is also going after seats being vacated by Rep. Bart Stupak (D), in the Upper Penninsula of Michigan, and David Obey (D), the chairman of the House Appropriations Committee.

Democrats are only going on the offense in three of the 66 districts where it spent money. It is spending $776,000 on the open seat vacated by Rep. Mario Diaz-Balart (R-Fla.). It also went up with another $126,000 buy targeting Rep. Charles Djou (R-Hawaii). Lastly, they continue to target the Illinois seat vacated by Rep. Mark Kirk (R) so he could run for the Senate.

A complete breakdown:


Dist.   Member                        Amount
AL-02 Bobby Bright (D) $266,416
AR-01 Open (Berry (D) $538,343
AZ-01 Ann Kirkpatrick (D) $270,805
AZ-05 Harry Mitchell (D) $269,472
AZ-07 Raul Grijalva (D) $82,991
AZ-08 Gabrielle Giffords (D) $132,195
CA-11 Jerry McNerney (D) $471,126
CA-20 Jim Costa (D) $191,580
CO-03 John Salazar (D) $358,249
CO-07 Ed Perlmutter (D) $301,064
CT-05 Chris Murphy (D) $274,950
FL-02 Allen Boyd (D) $170,422
FL-22 Ron Klein (D) $315,840
FL-25 Open (Diaz-Balart) $775,901
HI-01 Charles Djou (R) $126,252
GA-02 Sanford Bishop (D) $256,835
GA-08 Jim Marshall (D) $11,340
IA-01 Bruce Braley (D) $166,944
IA-02 Dave Loebsack (D) $270,353
IA-03 Leonard Boswell (D) $157,790
IL-10 Open (Kirk) $590,722
IL-14 Bill Foster (D) $526,917
IL-17 Phil Hare (D) $92,158
IN-02 Joe Donnelly (D) $179,712
IN-09 Baron Hill (D) $454,496
KY-06 Ben Chandler (D) $133,451
MA-10 Open (Delahunt) $823,060
MD-01 Frank Kratovil (D) $339,824
MI-01 Open (Stupak) $201,432
MI-07 Mark Schauer (D) $364,294
MI-09 Gary Peters (D) $497,250
MN-01 Tim Walz (D) $129,922
MS-01 Travis Childers (D) $224,934
MO-04 Ike Skelton (D) $458,420
NV-03 Dina Titus (D) $404,364
NC-07 Mike McIntyre (D) $62,134
NC-08 Larry Kissell (D) $458,102
ND-AL Earl Pomeroy (D) $294,008
NH-02 Open (Hodes) $487,837
NJ-03 John Adler (D) $642,133
NM-01 Martin Heinrich (D) $372,240
NY-19 John Hall (D) $409,200
NY-20 Scott Murphy (D) $220,320
NY-23 Bill Owens (D) $431,140
NY-24 Michael Arcuri (D) $260,353
OH-06 Charlie Wilson (D) $240,781
OH-16 John Boccieri (D) $296,096
OH-18 Zack Space (D) $277,311
OR-05 Kurt Schrader (D) $354,768
PA-07 Open (Sestak) $702,326
PA-08 Patrick Murphy (D) $544,222
PA-10 Chris Carney (D) $217,500
PA-11 Paul Kanjorski (D) $196,926
PA-12 Mark Critz (D) $325,011
SC-05 John Spratt (D) $252,007
SD-AL S. Herseth Sandlin (D) $262,822
TN-04 Lincoln Davis (D) $168,260
TX-17 Chet Edwards (D) $568,953
TX-23 Ciro Rodriguez (D) $169,021
VA-02 Glenn Nye (D) $88,514
VA-05 Tom Perriello (D) $142,123
VA-11 Gerry Connolly (D) $1,079,867
WA-02 Rich Larsen (D) $344,383
WA-03 Open (Baird) $562,384
WI-07 Open (Obey) $131,383
WV-01 Open (Mollohan) $210,483