Skip Navigation

Close and don't show again.

Your browser is out of date.

You may not get the full experience here on National Journal.

Please upgrade your browser to any of the following supported browsers:

House Committee Chairmen, Ranking Members and Committee Staff Directors House Committee Chairmen, Ranking Members and Committee Staff Director...

This ad will end in seconds
Close X

Want access to this content? Learn More »

Forget Your Password?

Don't have an account? Register »

Reveal Navigation


House Committee Chairmen, Ranking Members and Committee Staff Directors

All of the House committee chairmen and committee ranking members have been selected for the 111th Congress, as listed below with committee staff directors.


Chairman: Collin Peterson, D-Minn.


Ranking member: Frank Lucas, R-Okla.

Maj. Staff Dir: Rob Larew

Min. Staff Dir: Nicole Scott



Chairman: David Obey, D-Wis.

Ranking member: Jerry Lewis, R-Calif.

Maj. Staff Dir: Beverly Pheto

Min. Staff Dir: Jeff Shockey


Armed Services

Chairman: Ike Skelton, D-Mo.

Ranking member: Howard (Buck) McKeon, R-Calif.

Maj. Staff Dir: Erin Conaton

Min. Staff Dir: Bob Simmons


Chairman: John Spratt, D-S.C.

Ranking member: Paul Ryan, R-Wis.

Maj. Staff Dir: Tom Kahn

Min. Staff Dir: Austin Smythe

Education and Labor

Chairman: George Miller, D-Calif.

Ranking member: John Kline, R-Minn.

Maj. Staff Dir: Mark Zuckerman

Min. Staff Dir: Sally Stroup

Energy and Commerce

Chairman: Henry Waxman, D-Calif.

Ranking member: Joe Barton, R-Texas

Maj. Staff Dir: Phil Barnett

Min. Staff Dir: David Cavicke

Financial Services

Chairman: Barney Frank, D-Mass.

Ranking member: Spencer Bachus, R-Ala.

Maj. Staff Dir: Jeanne Roslanowick

Min. Staff Dir: Larry Lavender

Foreign Affairs

Chairman: Howard Berman, D-Calif.

Ranking member: Ileana Ros-Lehtinen, R-Fla.

Maj. Staff Dir: Rick Kessler

Min. Staff Dir: Yleen Poblete

Homeland Security

Chairman: Bennie Thompson, D-Miss.

Ranking member: Peter King, R-N.Y.

Maj. Staff Dir: Lanier Avant

Min. Staff Dir: Mike Russell

House Administration

Chairman: Robert Brady, D-Pa.

Ranking Member: Dan Lungren, R-Calif.

Maj. Staff Dir: Liz Birnbaum

Min. Staff Dir: Victor Arnold-Bik


Chairman: John Conyers, D-Mich.

Ranking member: Lamar Smith, R-Texas.

Maj. Staff Dir: Perry Applebaum

Min. Staff Dir: Sean McLaughlin

Natural Resources

Chairman: Nick Rahall, D-W.Va.

Ranking member: Doc Hastings, R-Wash.

Maj. Staff Dir: Jim Zoia

Min. Staff Dir: Todd Young

Oversight and Government Reform

Chairman: Edolphus Towns, D-N.Y.

Ranking member: Darrel Issa, R-Calif.

Maj. Staff Dir: Ron Stroman

Min. Staff Dir: Larry Brady


Chairwoman: Louise Slaughter, D-N.Y.

Ranking member: David Dreier, R-Calif.

Maj. Staff Dir: Muftiah McCartin

Min. Staff Dir: Hugh Halpern

Science and Technology

Chairman: Bart Gordon, D-Tenn.

Ranking member: Ralph Hall, R-Texas

Maj. Staff Dir: Chuck Atkins

Min. Staff Dir: Leslee Gilbert

Small Business

Chairwoman: Nydia Velazquez, D-N.Y.

Ranking Member: Sam Graves, R-Mo.

Maj. Staff Dir: Michael Day

Min. Staff Dir: Karen Haas


Chairman: Zoe Lofgren, D-Calif.

Ranking member: Jo Bonner, R-Ala.

Staff Dir: Blake Chisam

Transportation and Infrastructure

Chairman: James Oberstar, D-Minn.

Ranking member: John Mica, R-Fla.

Maj. Staff Dir: David Heymsfeld

Min. Staff Dir: James Coon

Veterans Affairs

Chairman: Bob Filner, D-Calif.

Ranking member: Steven Buyer, R-Ind.

Maj. Staff Dir: Tony Buckles

Min. Staff Dir: Kingston Smith

Ways and Means

Chairman: Charles Rangel, D-N.Y.

Ranking member: Dave Camp, R-Mich.

Maj. Staff Dir: Janice Mays

Min. Staff Dir: Jon Traub


Chairman: Silvestre Reyes, D-Texas

Ranking member: Pete Hoekstra, R-Mich.

Maj. Staff Dir: Mike Delaney

Min. Staff Dir: Jim Lewis

Global Warming

Chairman: Edward Markey, D-Mass.

Ranking member: James Sensenbrenner, R-Wis.

Maj. Staff Dir: Jerry Waldron

Min. Staff Dir: Tom Weimer

comments powered by Disqus