Skip Navigation

Close and don't show again.

Your browser is out of date.

You may not get the full experience here on National Journal.

Please upgrade your browser to any of the following supported browsers:

Thirty Democrats Line Up Behind Hoyer for Whip Thirty Democrats Line Up Behind Hoyer for Whip

This ad will end in seconds
Close X

Want access to this content? Learn More »

Forget Your Password?

Don't have an account? Register »

Reveal Navigation


House Leadership

Thirty Democrats Line Up Behind Hoyer for Whip

The race between Steny Hoyer, D-Md., and Jim Clyburn, D-S.C., to be the Minority Whip for the 112th Congress is shifting to Hoyer's favor. He has lined up a strong list of endorsers, and over the weekend 30 Democratic representatives signed a letter supporting him for the position.

The letter includes a wide spectrum from the party, including conservative Blue Dogs like Larry Kissell, D-N.C., Joe Baca, D-Calif., and Adam Schiff, D-Calif., and progressives like Linda Sanchez, D-Calif., who is one of eight House members ranked most liberal in the 2009 National Journal Vote Ratings, and Sam Farr, D-Calif., who according to the House of Representatives Progressive Scorecard is the fifth most progressive representative.


"The 111th Congress is widely regarded as one of the most productive in recent history," the letter, obtained by Talking Points Memo says. "Together, we passed health care reform, tough rules for Wall Street, student lending and credit card reform, the job-creating Recovery Act, and more. Majority Leader Hoyer helped make those accomplishments possible by bringing our Caucus together and forcefully standing up for the Democratic principles we share."

The letter urges fellow members of Congress to support Hoyer, saying that he is "well-suited to stand up to Republicans" and also "understands the economic frustration that played such a large role in the outcome of last week's election." It also mentions his support of the "Make it in America" agenda, which, according to Speaker of the House Nancy Pelosi, he was responsible for naming.


comments powered by Disqus