Skip Navigation

Close and don't show again.

Your browser is out of date.

You may not get the full experience here on National Journal.

Please upgrade your browser to any of the following supported browsers:

QUICK TAKE: Keystone Proponents At SOTU As Boehner’s ‘Guests’ QUICK TAKE: Keystone Proponents At SOTU As Boehner’s ‘Guests’

This ad will end in seconds
Close X

Want access to this content? Learn More »

Forget Your Password?

Don't have an account? Register »

Reveal Navigation



QUICK TAKE: Keystone Proponents At SOTU As Boehner’s ‘Guests’

Seeking to score political points during President Obama’s State of the Union speech regarding the Keystone XL pipeline project, Speaker John Boehner, R-Ohio, says he invited several local leaders and job creators who are hurt by Obama’s decision to deny a permit to the project to sit as his guests in the House gallery.

In a statement, Boehner said, “President Obama’s rejection of the Keystone project has caused a public outcry and provided another example of how his policies are making our economy worse.”


“The president owes America’s workers an explanation, and I hope he will provide one tonight with these leaders and job creators on hand,” Boehner added.

Here is a list of those invited by Boehner

Ray Brooks 
Brooks is the Refining Division manager at Marathon Petroleum Company in Robinson, Ill. Marathon is a refining, marketing and transportation company.

Jay Churchill    

Churchill is the manager of Conoco Phillips’ Wood River Refinery in Roxana, Ill., approximately 15 miles north of St. Louis, Mo. The oil refinery recently expanded to be one of the largest in the U.S., in part to help handle additional capacity from Keystone pipeline and the oil from the oil sands.

Dave Delie

Delie is president of Welspun Tubular LLC, a subsidiary of Welspun Corp. Ltd, located in Little Rock, Ark. It is the second-largest diameter pipe producer in the world.

Sen. Chris Langemeier
Sen. Langemeier is a member of the Nebraska State Legislature, where he serves as chairman of the Natural Resources Committee. He is a strong supporter of the Keystone XL pipeline and was the author of compromise legislation that paved the way for a new pipeline route in the state.




comments powered by Disqus