Skip Navigation

Close and don't show again.

Your browser is out of date.

You may not get the full experience here on National Journal.

Please upgrade your browser to any of the following supported browsers:

Democrats Murray, Baucus, Kerry on Super Committee Democrats Murray, Baucus, Kerry on Super Committee

This ad will end in seconds
Close X

Want access to this content? Learn More »

Forget Your Password?

Don't have an account? Register »

Reveal Navigation



Democrats Murray, Baucus, Kerry on Super Committee


Democratic Sens. (from left to right) John Kerry of Massachusetts, Patty Murray of Washington, and Max Baucus of Montana(AFP/Getty Images)

Senate Majority Leader Harry Reid, D-Nev., will appoint Democratic Sens. Patty Murray of Washington, Max Baucus of Montana and John Kerry of Massachusetts to the new "super committee" tasked with finding $1.2 trillion in additional deficit reduction by Nov. 23, Reid announced Tuesday.

From National Journal:
Who Will Be Named to the Super Committee?

WATCH: Al Gore Lose His Cool

Pages Who Went on to Bigger and Better Things

Celebrities Come to D.C.

Kansas to Washington: Take Your Money Back


Additionally, Murray is expected to co-chair the committee, officially named the Joint Select Committee on Deficit Reduction, along with a still unnamed House Republican. A spokesman for Reid did not respond to a request for comment.

Reid’s decision to tap Murray will likely be met with scrutiny, as she is also chairing the Democratic Senatorial Campaign Committee for the 2012 election cycle. But she is also a member of leadership, a senior member of the Budget Committee, and a woman on what is likely to be a male-dominated committee.

(PICTURES: Who Will Be Named to the Super Committee?)


Baucus is chairman of the powerful Senate Finance Committee with jurisdiction over many areas, including entitlement programs, that the committee is expected to examine. Kerry, meanwhile, was selected for his stature and Senate tenure.

The remaining nine lawmakers have yet to be announced. House Speaker John Boehner, R-Ohio, House Minority Leader Nancy Pelosi, D-Calif., and Senate Minority Leader Mitch McConnell, R-Ky., each must name three members to the panel by August 16.

The panel will need at least seven of the 12 lawmakers to vote on a final proposal by Thanksgiving in order to fast-track it through both chambers and send it to President Obama by December 23. If the panel deadlocks along partisan lines, it would trigger across-the-board cuts for both defense and non-defense spending.



Don't Miss Today's Top Stories

Sign up form for the newsletter