Skip Navigation

Close and don't show again.

Your browser is out of date.

You may not get the full experience here on National Journal.

Please upgrade your browser to any of the following supported browsers:

Which Members Crossed Party Lines in Holder Contempt Vote Which Members Crossed Party Lines in Holder Contempt Vote

This ad will end in seconds
Close X

Want access to this content? Learn More »

Forget Your Password?

Don't have an account? Register »

Reveal Navigation



Which Members Crossed Party Lines in Holder Contempt Vote

Seventeen Democrats and two Republicans crossed party lines in the historic House vote to hold Attorney General Eric Holder in contempt today.

One hundred and nine members, all Democrats did not vote, and one member voted present. Among the 109 non-voting reps were Minority Leader Nancy Pelosi and Minority Whip Steny Hoyer, who joined with members of the Congressional Black Caucus to walk out on the vote.

The 17 Democrats are:
Jason Altmire of Pennsylvania
John Barrow of Georgia
Dan Boren of Oklahoma
Leonard Boswell of Iowa
Ben Chandler of Kentucky
Mark Critz of Pennsylvania
Joe Donnelly of Indiana
Kathy Hochul of New York
Ron Kind of Wisconsin
Larry Kissell of North Carolina
Jim Matheson of Utah
Mike McIntyre of North Carolina
Bill Owens of New York
Collin Peterson of Minnesota
Nick Rahall of West Virginia
Mike Ross of Arkansas
Tim Walz of Minnesota

The Republicans are:
Steven LaTourette of Ohio
Scott Rigell of Virginia

The lone representative voting present was Daniel Lipinski, D-Ill.

Don't Miss Today's Top Stories


Rick, Executive Director for Policy

Concise coverage of everything I wish I had hours to read about."

Chuck, Graduate Student

The day's action in one quick read."

Stacy, Director of Communications

I find them informative and appreciate the daily news updates and enjoy the humor as well."

Richard, VP of Government Affairs

Chock full of usable information on today's issues. "

Michael, Executive Director

Sign up form for the newsletter