Skip Navigation

Close and don't show again.

Your browser is out of date.

You may not get the full experience here on National Journal.

Please upgrade your browser to any of the following supported browsers:

Deficit Commission Fails Deficit Commission Fails

This ad will end in seconds
Close X

Want access to this content? Learn More »

Forget Your Password?

Don't have an account? Register »

Reveal Navigation


Deficit Commission Fails

Pres. Obama's deficit commission did not win the 14 votes necessary to pass its plan Friday -- dealing the administration a significant setback in its efforts to trim the country's deficit.

The commission needed 14 votes to be automatically sent to Congress for consideration.

Former White House Chief of Staff Erskine Bowles (D) and former Sen. Alan Simpson (R-Wyo.) secured 11 votes. Seven of the 18 members said they did not support the plan.

Here's the whip count:

Sen. Tom Coburn (R-Okla.)
Sen. Kent Conrad (D-N.D.)
Honeywell CEO David Cote
Sen. Mike Crapo (R-Idaho)
Sen. Dick Durbin (D-Ill.)
Ex-Young & Rubicam Brands CEO Ann Fudge
Sen. Judd Gregg (R-N.H.)
Former CBO Dir. Alice Rivlin
Rep. John Spratt (D-S.C.)

Sen. Max Baucus (D-Mont.)
Rep. Dave Camp (R-Mich.)
Rep. Jeb Hensarling (R-Texas)
Rep. Paul Ryan (R-Wis.)
Rep. Jan Schakowsky (D-Ill.)
Former SEIU pres. Andy Stern
Rep. Xavier Becerra (D-Calif.)

Don't Miss Today's Top Stories


Rick, Executive Director for Policy

Concise coverage of everything I wish I had hours to read about."

Chuck, Graduate Student

The day's action in one quick read."

Stacy, Director of Communications

I find them informative and appreciate the daily news updates and enjoy the humor as well."

Richard, VP of Government Affairs

Chock full of usable information on today's issues. "

Michael, Executive Director

Sign up form for the newsletter