Skip Navigation

Close and don't show again.

Your browser is out of date.

You may not get the full experience here on National Journal.

Please upgrade your browser to any of the following supported browsers:

With Eye on '12, McCaskill and Nelson Back Earmark Ban With Eye on '12, McCaskill and Nelson Back Earmark Ban

This ad will end in seconds
Close X

Want access to this content? Learn More »

Forget Your Password?

Don't have an account? Register »

Reveal Navigation


With Eye on '12, McCaskill and Nelson Back Earmark Ban

As my colleague Josh Kraushaar noted earlier, only one Republican facing a tough re-election bid voted against the moratorium: Indiana Sen. Richard Lugar (R). Lugar's brand of moderate Republicanism has already sparked challenges from the right. The other Democrats who supported the earmark moratorium included Sens. Evan Bayh (D-Ind.) -- who is retiring -- and Russ Feingold (D-Wis.) -- who lost re-election this year. The others also came from swing states but are not up for re-election in 2012. They are Sens. Mark Udall (D-Colo.), Michael Bennet (D-Colo.) and Warner. Updated, 6 p.m. with McCaskill's background on earmarks.

Don't Miss Today's Top Stories


Rick, Executive Director for Policy

Concise coverage of everything I wish I had hours to read about."

Chuck, Graduate Student

The day's action in one quick read."

Stacy, Director of Communications

I find them informative and appreciate the daily news updates and enjoy the humor as well."

Richard, VP of Government Affairs

Chock full of usable information on today's issues. "

Michael, Executive Director

Sign up form for the newsletter